World Cup Trophy Dimensions

The World Cup trophy is made out of gold, which is awardedWorld Cup Trophy to the championship team of the FIFA World Cup. It was originally called Victory, but was later on changed because of some valid reasons. From 1930 to 1970, it was renamed as the Jules Rimet Trophy in honor of a former president of the Federation Internationale de Football Association or FIFA. From 1974 until today, it is referred to as the FIFA World Cup Trophy. Aside from these highly interesting details, it is also good to know the World Cup trophy dimensions.

The Dimensions of the World Cup Trophy

Designed by Italian sculptor Silvio Gazzaniga, the FIFA World Cup Trophy has a height of 14.4 inches or 36.5 centimeters. It is made from 11 pounds or 5 kilograms of 18-carat solid gold. Meanwhile, its base has a diameter measuring 5.1 inches or 13 centimeters, which is made up of a couple of layers of malachite. The medal and trophy manufacturer Bertoni, Milano is responsible for its production, each of which weighs 13.6 pounds or 6.175 kilograms. The trophy features figures of two people holding up the world.

Additional Facts and Other Interesting Details

The very first FIFA World Cup Trophy was presented to the West German football captain Franz Beckenbauer, whose team won the 1974 FIFA World Cup. The words ‘FIFA World Cup’ can be found at the base of the trophy. At the bottom side, the name of the winning country is engraved. Aside from these, you can also find the year of the event.

The past winners of the Jules Rimet Trophy were Brazil in 1958, 1962 and 1970, Italy in 1934 and 1938 as well as Uruguay in 1930 and 1950. West Germany won the event in 1954, while England won it in 1966. The past winners of the FIFA World Cup Trophy were Brazil in 1994 and 2002, Italy in 1982 and 2006 and West Germany in 1974 and 1990. Argentina won a couple of trophies, one in 1978 and another in 1986, while France won in 1998.

Brazil is the leading country in terms of trophies won, which owns 3 Jules Rimet Trophies and 2 FIFA World Cup Trophies for a total 5 championships. Next is Italy, which has already won a total 4 championships, two Jules Rimet Trophies and two FIFA World Cup Trophies. Third on the list is Germany with 3, one of which is a Jules Rimet Trophy while the other two are FIFA World Cup Trophies.

Similar Posts