F1 Circuit Length

F1 circuit lengths vary, as do their features and construction.F1 Circuit The following circuits were the ones used in the 2009 Formula One season. Most of the circuits have also been used in previous seasons.

Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit (Australia)

The circuit is located in Albert Park, Melbourne, Victoria. It is a street circuit with a length of 5.303 km (3.30 mi). There are a total of 16 turns. The lap record is 1:24.125 held by Michael Schumacher. The original course was 5.0 km (3.125 mi) with only 9 turns.

Sepang International Circuit (Malaysia)

Located in Sepang, the F1 circuit length is 5.543 km (3.44 mi). There are 15 turns. The lap record is 1:34.223 (held by Juan Pablo Montoya, BMW).

Shanghai International Circuit (China)

The circuit is in Shanghai and is 5.451 km (3.387 mi) long. There are 16 turns. The lap record is 1:32.238 set in 2004 by Michael Schumacher.

Bahrain International Circuit (Bahrain)

The circuit is in Sakhir, Bahrain. The length is 5.412 km or (3.37 mi) long. There are 15 turns in the circuit. The lap record of 1:30.252 was set by Michel Schumacher in 2004.

Circuit de Catalunya (Spain)

The circuit’s length is 4.655 km (2.875 mi). There are 16 turns and the lap record is 1:21.670. This was set by Kimi Raikkonen in 2008. The circuit is in Barcelona, Spain.

Circuit de Monaco (Monaco)

The F1 circuit length is 3.34 km (2.075 mi). There are 18 turns with the lap record at 1:14.439. This was set by Michael Schumacher in 2004. The circuit is in Monte Carlo.

Istanbul Park (Turkey)

The circuit is 5.338 km or 3.317 mi. There are 14 turns. The circuit is in Istanbul and the lap record was established by Juan Montoya in 2005 (1:24.770).

Silverstone Circuit (Britain)

Found in Northamptonshire, the circuit stretches for 5.141 (3.194 mi). There are 17 turns. The record is 1:18.739, (Michael Schumacher, 2004).

Nurburgring (Germany)

Found in Nurburg, Germany, the F1 circuit length is 5.148 km (3.2 mi). There are currently 16 turns in the track. The lap record is also held by Michael Schumacher (1:29.468), set in 2004.

Hungaroring (Hungary)

The circuit is in Mogyorod, Hungary. The length is 4.381 km (2.722 mi). There are currently 16 turns. The lap record of 1:19.071 was set by Michael Schumacher (2004).

Valencia Street Circuit (Spain)

The circuit is in Valencia, Spain and is 5.419 km (3.367 mi) long. It is the current host of the European Grand Prix.

Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium)

The length is 7.004 km (4.352 mi). The record is 1:47.263 (Sebastian Vettel set it in 2009). There are 21 turns on the track.

Other F1 Tracks

The other tracks on the F1 2009 calendar were Monza (Italy, 5.793 km), Marina Bay (Singapore, 5.067 km), Suzuka (Japan, 5.07 km), Interlagos (Brazil, 4.309 km) and Yas Marina (Abu Dhabi, UAE, 5.554 km).

More varied F1 circuit lengths and designs are expected. To meet the growing demand from fans, innovations like night racing and rule changes are being implemented.

Similar Posts